Sede vacante

I’m not one who wears my religion on my sleeve. This has nothing to do with the depth of my faith, but rather a by-product of being a very private person where my journey with God is concerned. The inspiration for this post came from a memorable experience of being in Rome during the previous sede vacante, then in Volendam when the papal conclave broke and the new Bishop of Rome was announced.

That was in April 2005. Like millions out there, I was not expecting to see this process again so soon, in less than a decade from the last. The Papal Basilica of Saint Peter literally stops all administrative processes during this period of sede vacante. Like all the Roman Catholics out there, I will be following the proceedings closely accompanied with prayerful meditations.

A new chapter now begins for the Church.

One thought on “Sede vacante

Leave a Reply

