Peace

Serenity Prayer

This desktop background was something I made a few years back after visiting The Vatican. I made H and lil sis camp out with me out in the cold while waiting for day to turn to night, and this interesting perspective of the colonnades was one of the rewards from the wait. Rather brag-worthy, I thought, and it used to grace the desktop on my work laptop. It gave me strength to get through the day when I logged in and saw the prayer each morning at work.

Lord, grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
the courage to change the things I can;
and the wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is,
not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.

Amen.

The Serenity Prayer, though not found anywhere in the Bible, is one of my most favourite prayers. It very succinctly encapsulates what being a faithful Christian is all about – acknowledging God’s exsitence and submitting to His will, believing that only He and He alone will make things right, in His time. So much wisdom in this prayer…

Leave a Reply

