Jill the Ripper

This was something I have wanted to do for the longest time. Considering that space is still fast running out despite the collection going through multiple times of culling in the past eight years, I’d say this declutter project has recently been escalated from a ‘want to’ to a ‘need to’ basis.

The project in question? Ripping DVDs and converting them into a less bulky form, in this case MP4 format. This was by no means simple; three years back it would have involved a complicated combination of several freeware and processes. Now, the process has been so much further simplified it is almost a sin not to do something about the discovery. While I’m not sure about the folks on a PC, a person as I on a Mac OS really just needs to download one single freeware available online, and I’m good to go.

And going I have been. I’d selected and ripped some of the drama series housed in the more bulky, fanciful boxes. But the bigger problem that lies with a hoarder – any typical chronic hoarder – is that it is never easy to throw out things, even when you already have a better and less bulky version of it tucked somewhere safe. Same goes with my Tom Clancy series of books: having them on my Kindle is still not reason enough to throw out the yellowed, silverfish-infested tree-killing collection.

I think I need help. 😆

Leave a Reply

