Paris Shaula +63

9 weeks! We have officially cleared the 2-month mark. Paris is still doing well with no symptoms, but just a couple of days ago, a local acquaintance I knew through the ‘Hemangiosarcoma’ FB Page updated that her furkid suddenly had a major bleed, after 2-months of absolutely no symptoms. It was a wakeup call for me, telling me that I cannot assume Paris is doing well just because she appears to be so. For all I know, she could be concealing her pain.

The past 2 afternoons we had been blessed with great weather. I took her out for short walks near the house. She was so happy to be out on walks, but I very soon realised that she didn’t really want to walk; she just wanted stand around and sniff at things that interests her.  As I watched her, I couldn’t help but feel a tinge of sadness. Age and cancer have taken such a toll on her health in the most obvious ways; other than the apparent weight loss, she has also lost her appetite for adventure, preferring to stick to the familiar.

Paris 63a+

Paris 63b+

On the other hand, she has been very nice to me, ever smiling into the camera cooperatively when I asked her to. This is very rare especially where Paris is concerned.

Paris 63c+

Bad weather persisted. I’ve been monitoring the weather forecast hoping we have a good, clear morning during the weekend because we have planned to bring the girls to the Singapore Botanic Gardens. Part of it was to bring them out to explore new places, part of it for me to take some nice pictures of them for memories’ sake. And there was a 3rd reason, we were going to meet up with some friends who wanted to see Paris.

Come Saturday morning, we set off very early in the morning before the crowd descended upon Singapore’s first UNESCO World Heritage Site. The girls were not cooperative at all. They refused to sit and stay whenever we asked them to. It was quite vexing. They were probably bothered by the heat and humidity. Even I couldn’t take it. And I could feel my hair going crazy and frizzy as I perspired more and more.

Paris 63d+

Paris 63e+

We didn’t stay very long at the Gardens, leaving slightly after 1.5hours there. Couldn’t meet the friends who had wanted to arrive only at 10am. Too bad then. We didn’t want to stay any longer because the girls were really panting hard. Cannot risk tiring them too much.

To add variety to her food repertoire, we’ve been thinking very hard to balance between healthy and delicious. They don’t always go hand in hand, but I think we can afford to allow Paris to indulge once in a while. So long as she is happy…

I decided to go ahead with the supplements plan without consulting a holistic vet. Good thing is, the turkey tail mushroom extract actually doesn’t taste bad at all. Paris doesn’t mind it when we sprinkle it on her food. Then again, this girl really isn’t picky with her food. She even eats celery now, a food she hated in the past. At this point, I’m just happy that she still has a healthy appetite (and is constantly begging for more food).

Leave a Reply

